What’s In Your Garbage

20130613_080249

I was going through my room the other day, cleaning and re-arranging. I don’t like clutter and lately I have made a serious effort to end clutter in my room. As I shredded pieces of old receipts, magazines,papers etc, I came across a little box. The box was in good shape and had a loving multicolored design on it. The only thing was that since we got it, I don’t remember this box been used that often. So I did what came naturally to me and tossed it in the garbage.

As I did that I heard my spirit tell me, ” Just because you are not using it now, doesn’t mean you can’t use it later.” Wow, I thought about that for a quick second and then went back to  the trash bin and pulled it out. You see, we all have things in our lives we mistakenly call garbage, we take a good look at them and immediately lock them up in the vaults of our lives instead of being used outside.

For example, every one of us have experiences, pains, weaknesses, friends etc that we are so quick to discard simply because we feel like they are not relevant to us today. We conclude that nothing good can come out of this because we fill like it can’t bless any body. However, we can find many treasures in our “trash,” if we are patient and willing to let God use it. You see, God abhors waste and He will never waste our “garbage.” He has the uncanny ability to sift through the garbage of our lives and bring out the best in us. He sees treasures in you that if you were to simply look through the prism of His love, you will see the same as well.

I am immediately reminded of Apostle Paul in the bible, who said the following:

“I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength,that he considered me trustworthy, appointing me to his service. Even though I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man, I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and unbelief. The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life. “[1 Tim 1:12-16 NIV]

So friends what’s in your garbage, don’t undermine what you have. It may look insignificant to you but when you put it in God’s hands and invest some time in it, it could be a blessing to others just like Paul. Remember; just because you are not using what you consider to be insignificant now, doesn’t mean you can’t use it later. God bless.

Decision for today: Lord help me to recognize the treasures in my “garbage.”

Question: What treasure, client, resource am I overlooking today?

Leave a Reply

