My Three Million Dollar Sermon

I have often asked myself what I would do with millions of dollars at my disposal. The mere thought of this, conjures up a sense of relieve and excitement. Having such an amount, can literally change your world for good or bad depending on the person. I must confess, that just thinking about all the possibilities and opportunities brings a smile to my face.

I am not trying to promote materialism but I can guarantee you that every one of us have had this thought cross our minds at one point or another. So please indulge me a bit, try to dream with me, what would you really do?

I heard a story recently, about a minister who preached a sermon about what he would do if he had one million dollars. His name was Frank Wakely Gunsaulus, he had a dream of building a school that would impact society and welcome people from various backgrounds. His sermon would be tagged ” Million Dollar Sermon.”

A wealthy business man by the name of Philip Danforth Armour Sr (1832-1901) got wind of this sermon and was so inspired that he gave $1 million to Gunsaulus to found the Armour Institute which later became the Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago (More details on this click here).

What I find interesting about Frank Gunsaulus’s “Million Dollar Sermon,” was that he was not requesting that amount of money for himself. He wanted the amount to bless others. Some times, questions like what we would do if we have millions of dollars are like trick questions. They expose our selfishness and egotistical desires for self promotion.

I have to admit that my own first thoughts of what I would do with money like this, centered on selfish ambition and my personal comfort. However, this story solidified my wish to think otherwise. What this story also shows that, money if handled with the right mindset,  can do a lot of good for others. This minister looked beyond himself and desired to build a school that would outlast him.

Philipian 2:3-4 says “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

So what is my three million dollar sermon? Well, I dream of building a youth center on the south side of Chicago were young kids can come to study, have fun and be mentored. I choose the South-Side of Chicago because it is in need of some serious revitalization and I choose a youth center because, youths are the future.

The good thing about a dream like this is that you don’t have to have millions of dollars to make an impact in someone’s life. Start with what you have and God will magnify it. So what is your one, two or three million dollar sermon? Remember life is best lived when lived for God and others. Thanks for indulging me in this dream.

Leave a Reply

