Ask And You Will Receive

Many people find it very uncomfortable to ask others for help let alone God. In fact, there is that old assumption that most men would rather die than ask someone on the streets for directions.

There are many reasons why people are reluctant to ask others for help. A fear rejection, a fear of getting hurt,  personal insecurities, pride, ego and a perceived sense of vulnerability are just some examples.   The reality is that, no matter what season you are in life, you will always need help in some areas and asking is a sure way to get a response.

I have often wondered why people stay in tough situations when the answer is just a question away. You can cut the amount of time trying to figure it out on your own, by consulting an expert in that area or by simply asking someone experienced enough to help you. This is wisdom.

A perfect example of this, is a dialogue that occurs between my eldest  daughter and I every time I try to  strap her into her car seat. When I offer to help strap her in, her first response to me is “Dad, I wanna do it myself.”

At first, I ignored her every time she said that.  Opting to just strap her in without any drama. However, the more it occurred, I realized that it could be a teachable moment for her as well. So I just let her try it out sometimes and after two or three attempts struggling, I would hear her call in a soft voice, “Daddy can you help me please?” 

I think she gets the idea now; she no longer struggles with me, she allows me to help her by simply asking me for help. I know there will be a time when she will not need to ask me to help her with her seat belt but this is a principle that I am hoping we all can learn from.

Matthew 7:7-8 says “ “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”

Verse 8 of the above scripture is so emphatic that it says “Everyone” who asks, receives. It doesn’t matter what your background is, it doesn’t matter if you feel unqualified,  just ask God for help today and you will receive. Your discovery is at the end of your asking. God is so merciful that he brings into our lives people who are capable of helping us in the seasons of our lives. Don’t let pride, insecurities or stubbornness prevent you from asking today. God bless.

 

2 thoughts on “Ask And You Will Receive

  1. Jeffrey C. Lee July 14, 2012 / 11:28 pm

    Thanks Omo! I really enjoy youre testimonies, and reminds me of many times of deep disicussions back in Wheaton. Miss ya man!

    • Omokhai July 16, 2012 / 4:05 pm

      Hey Jeff,

      Thanks for reading the blogs. All to the glory of God. I remember our days in Wheaton. Thanks for making my stay over there a blessed one. God bless my brother.

Leave a Reply

