Stand Your Ground!!!

One of the greatest lessons my father thought me is to respect everyone but fear no one. Somehow that little lecture he gave me as a small boy always remained with me. Every time I faced opposition from people or situations, I would remember my father’s voice echoing in the chambers of my mind.

“Don’t be afraid of anyone, you hear!!” he would say. Those words would energize me as I confronted bullies, oppositions and my greatest fears. I wish I could tell you I came out of those situations  unscathed or that I never experienced fear again but all the same, I could always rely on the confidence from those words in times when I wanted to give up.

Everyday many of us go through life battered and bullied. If we are not bullied, tempted or battered by external sources like loved ones, employers or friends, then it will be from internal sources mostly within our minds (the most dangerous source). Many times, when we face temptations, oppositions and fears, we get intimidated. Our knees buckle and then we fall like a pack of cards.

Ephesians 6:13-14 says,

“Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore, …..”

God through Apostle Paul is encouraging us to fight back, don’t tuck your tail in between your legs and cave in.  We can fight back by rejecting those internal thoughts of fear that bombard our minds, we can look away from that tempting situation. Yes we can!!! Don’t allow life and fears to bully you today, God has not given you a spirit of fear but of power, love and of a sound mind (2 Tim 1:7).

Put on the armor God has given you and take a stand against the enemy today. Hear God, like I heard my father say “Stand your ground child, I am on your side, you can’t fail and don’t be afraid of anyone.” God bless.

Leave a Reply

