Stop Trying To Be Perfect

I have found that one of the most humbling realities to accept in life is the fact that no one is perfect. Yeah we may look good, ooze charisma or even speak eloquently; however, if we are honest with ourselves, we all can attest to one or two weaknesses in our lives.

I have also discovered that there is a warped view of what true perfection is. We are bombarded with so many images in our media of the“perfect abs,” the “perfect teeth,” the “perfect face” the “perfect body” and even the “perfect church. “ This quest for human perfection takes our focus away from the person that has the ability to help us attain divine perfection, Jesus Christ.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not against striving for perfection or being excellent, what I am simply saying is that perfection can never be attained in our strength, by our own abilities or intellect. True perfection can not be achieved without Christ. Christ is the only perfect one and it is when we submit to Him that He releases the ability for us to live perfectly and excellently.

In 2 Corthians 12: 9 Apostle Paul writes the following;

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Jesus (The only perfect being) told Paul in the above scriptures that His grace was enough for the weakness that He had. The link to divine perfection is God’s grace. Grace is not something we work or strive for, it a free gift given to us to receive. Grace is the ability to do what we ordinarily can’t do. God knows the limitations of our flesh that is why He sent His son to die for us so that the burden of perfection is no longer on us but on Him.

I recently had to come to terms with a weakness I had. After reading an article on the ability to listen, I decided to evaluate my listening abilities. My conclusion was that I was a terrible listner. Infact, it was a weakness I had developed over the years. The interesting thing is that the more I tried in my own abilities to pay close attention to others, the more I struggled with this inability. It wasn’t until I completely surrendered my weakness to God that I began to see improvement in that area.

Friends, it is a done deal, Christ has dealt with our imperfections so stop trying to be perfect. I have found that when we acknowledge our weaknesses like Paul did, we open ourselves up to God’s ability to assist our inabilities. When we are open about our weaknesses instead of hidding or ignoring them, we help establish a support system that can help us deal with such.

Gal 2:20-21 says “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Christ is all we need and when we allow Christ live through us by yeilding to His grace to help us; He will release His power to “perfect” whatever is inperfect in our lives. God bless.

 

Leave a Reply

