Not Enough To Believe

I have had a fascination with God since my pre-teen years.  I really cannot tell you the exact time this fascination began, but all I can say is that it has always been there. Even though I grew up in a “Christian” house hold with parents that instilled godly values in us, I always had this sense very early in life that there was something more to life than meets the eye.  Somehow, I was able to piece things together from my observations of nature growing up in West Africa, that nature was a product of some one greater; it was a product of the creator, God. 

Don’t get me wrong, my views about  God  and his “servants” were not always accepting, I was conflicted as to why such a creative, lavish and powerful God, encouraged His followers to be stiff, boring and poor. I couldn’t understand why serving God had to be physically tedious and mentally demanding (So I thought). As a result of this, there was a strong hesitation on my part to completely yield myself to Him, even though I knew He existed and could see His manifestations in His created works.

I am sure many of us are familiar with this conflict; we all have our questions, concerns and our reservations about who God is. However, I believe personally that most people don’t have issues with believing God per se (If we are honest with ourselves, we all know He exists), we have issues with the way we are to connect with Him and respond to His calls. You see, regardless of our questions, it doesn’t change the fact that God does exist and He rewards us when we make the effort to seek Him dearly.

The New Testament book of Hebrews makes this point very clear. It says in Hebrews 11:6

“And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.”

It takes faith to believe in God and that faith comes from the Word of God, however it should not just end at just having a believe in God, there is a second step. The second part of that scripture says God rewards not just those that believe but those that seek Him earnestly. This is the key; it is not enough to just believe, the scriptures say “even the devil believes.” We need to add some deliberate/intentional desire to actually to seek God passionately.

Going back to my story, yeah, I believed God; yeah I had head knowledge about Him. Nonetheless, it was not until I took steps to seek Him diligently that I began to enjoy His physical, mental and spiritual rewards. Where are you in life today? Are you just going through the motions of life, relationships or career? Maybe you are searching for the rewards of life in the wrong place? Why don’t you give God a chance today and seek Him in worship.  Call Him up; He is waiting to hear from you. God bless.

Leave a Reply

