My Thoughts About Worship

I recently changed my driving route to and from work. This simple decision shaved 30mins off my commute every day.  One day as I was driving using my new route, I came to an intersection where I could see very clearly some serious traffic on the other side of the road. The traffic was so severe that the cars seemed to be at a standstill.  As I drove through the intersection overlooking the express way, I suddenly realized that the road with traffic was my old route to work.  There was a sense of comfort in the fact that I wasn’t stuck in traffic but there was also a sense of regret for the precious time I had wasted prior to my change. Don’t get me wrong, I made the most of my time in the car during that period but can you imagine what other productive things I could have been doing had I not been stuck in traffic? It occurred to me that I never really realized how bad the traffic was until I saw it from the other side. If I had known it was that bad, maybe I would have changed my route earlier.

Sometimes, we act like the dog in the story I read about by Bob Whitley that kept moaning and groaning as it lay down in the front porch. A neighbor observed that the dog was moaning softly and asked why the dog was in pain. The dog’s owner said “Oh he is sleeping on a nail.” “So why doesn’t he just change positions or get up?” said the neighbor. “I guess it doesn’t hurt that much, “the owner replied. Sometimes the mundane and routines of life can make us insensitive to the actual pains of our ignorance.  We drive through the same route to work or life, experience the same holdups and traffic but do nothing to change course.  Change can be very challenging to many of us but the only thing that is constant is change, so making adjustments in life is essential for progress. Many of us have our ideas about worship and are stuck in a particular style or approach because we have refused to change the way we approach God in worship. Even though God never changes, His operations are diverse. If we don’t yield our ways to the flow of God’s spirit in worship then we will never make progress. You see, worship is the agent of change and our lives are supposed to experience progressive, incremental change as we expose ourselves to God daily in worship (2 Cor 3:18). True worship brings change and change in the right direction helps us save time.  So change your attitude today towards worship, stop being comfortable in the “traffic” of life, get off the slow lane, seek Him with a changed attitude and you will avoid the “traffic “of life.

Leave a Reply

