My Thoughts About Worship

During my lunch break, I like to take short walks around the environs of my office. The neighborhood my office is located is in the northern suburbs of Illinois and the scenery of the area is very beautiful. It is filled with well manicured lawns, beautiful ponds, lovely flowers and tall trees. On a clear day you can feel the sun’s rays peeking through lush popcorn like cumulus clouds. My walks through this area is usually very cathartic for me and one cannot help but wonder in amazement about the genius of the God that created all these things.  I mean, when I look at the trees and hear the whispers of their leaves or when I watch the geese fly through the clouds, it is almost as if even nature is affirming my amazement of the glory of God.

Psalm 19:1- 4 says that “The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voicegoes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.

So even the heavens, the skies according to the above scriptures are involved in worship. The scripture says that day after day they pour forth speech, in other words they testify through their mere existence that God deserves all the glory. Even though they don’t have voices like we have, they are still able to express worship throughout the earth.  If plants and creations that are not as expressive as we are through speech can declare the glory of God daily then we humans are without excuse.

Romans 1:20 says “For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse.”

I have decided not to be “out praised” by the clouds, I have decided not to be “out worshipped” by the heavens, as longs as I have breadth in my lungs, I will declare the glory of God for His deserves all the glory.  God bless you.

Leave a Reply

