My Thoughts About Worship

As I sat at my desk yesterday wondering how to address a problem at work, I was so focused on the issue when i suddenly realized that God deserves our thanks regardless of our circumstances. I felt this overwhelming sense of gratitude to God come over me for everything He had done in my life. I began to think about the day and previous weeks to recount various victories the Lord had won for me. Before long, I excused myself and went to the restroom. While there, I was still full of this sense of gratitude.  I just naturally began to thank God for my wife and children. I realized that so many people out there are looking to be married or have kids but God has blessed me with both. I began to thank God for my life, the fact that I am still alive is a strong testimony in itself. This went on for sometime and after that, i felt encouraged and charge up to finish my day.

You see, sometimes, it is so easy to focus on what is not working. So easy to put your head down in defeat and bask in the sorrows of our pains. When we focus on what is not working, it becomes maximized and causes us to focus on ourselves. God wants us to focus on Him and when we count our blessings as the famous song prescribes, it changes our focus back to God.

Everything can’t go wrong all at once. There is always something to thank God for regardless of your situation. Maybe you are behind in your bills but you are alive, you can thank God for that. Maybe that neighbor has been getting on your last nerve but you can thank God that you even have a neighbor. Its all a matter of perspective. Find things today you can be thankful to God, for in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thes 5:18)

Leave a Reply

