My Thoughts About Worship

Have you ever walked into the break room of your office or kitchen early in the morning and found a loved one or colleague in there with a slumber look on their face?  When you look at them, they look harassed and like they just rolled out of bed but you know why they are in there. They are there to get their daily jolt of energy from a mysterious liquid.  Actually, it isn’t a mysterious liquid; it is a beverage we are all familiar with. Coffee!!!

A lot of people love to start their day with their morning cup of coffee. As a matter of fact, their productivity, focus and mood are determined by this liquid that is brewed from coffee beans.  If we were to ask these drinkers to rank in order of priority which activity came first on the list of morning activities, without question, drinking their morning cup of coffee would rank number one.  I am not knocking coffee; I usually enjoy a cup myself daily.

 However I began to wonder where worship ranked in the order of things. Is worship a top priority or is it just an afterthought? I did a little research on the process of prioritizing and found two common themes. The first is that in order to prioritize you have to make a list of activities or things that compete for your time and attention. These things don’t have to be bad things but the idea is that you will never be able to prioritize if you don’t know what it is you are doing already. The second thing is you have to ask some tough questions like, what will happen to me if I don’t do this activity daily? What impact will this activity have on me in the long run? These questions will help us with the prioritizing process.

So how do we apply this to worship? Matt 6:33 tells us to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all other things will be added to us. Let us look at this verse closely and connect it with the prioritizing process. When we make our list of activities for the day, worshipping and seeking God should be the first thing on the list. In other words we need to hold it in such a high esteem because of the impact it has on us in the long run. People love coffee and other activities because of what they derive from it. Once you discover through Gods word the benefits and advantages of seeking God first, you will make it a priority.  One benefit the scriptures tell us is that every other thing we are trying to chase after in life will be added to us. This doesn’t mean that things will just fall from heaven into our laps literally, it just means that seeking God opens the door for God to operate in other affairs of our lives. Also seeking God involves seeking His ways as well, you can’t make seeking God a priority in your life and completely forget keeping His ways. It is like saying “Hey I go to church and say my prayers daily but I just hate my neighbor.”  This will not cut it, if you are to prioritize your life by putting the act of worship first then it means that you also have to include as a matter of priority the act of loving our neighbors.

So let us examine ourselves today to find out what number worship and seeking God ranks on our list of daily activities. If it is low on the agenda, bump it up, take some steps, get a schedule, show that you really can’t live without your daily cup of coffee, I mean worship. God bless you.

One thought on “My Thoughts About Worship

  1. J K Jernberg August 13, 2011 / 9:12 am

    I like to think I am not ADDICTED to coffee (reg or decaf). A morning cup of java has been my routine since I was a child growing up in a Swedish family. I never experienced my first official “coffee break” until after high school when I started working in the real world. The vending machine liquid in a cardboard cup caused me to first drop sugar and then the white stuff.

    My morning devotions are usually accompanied by home-brewed Hill Bros coffee (my dad’s favorite—like father like son). I am thankful every day for my strong Christian parents.
    Altho I was only 29 when I lost my dad at age 60, I think of him almost every day – drink my coffee break. God bless his memory!

Leave a Reply

